Reviews

9.3
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.1
Comfort
9.3
Property location
9.0
Facilities
9.5
Staff
9.9
Value
8.8

Reviews

    Nigel
    ca

    Review score

    10
    20 April 2018

    A delightful stay in a beautiful garden setting

    Nothing, except we were unable to stay longer as the Orosi Valley has a lot of interesting things to do
    The garden setting, the patio with its jacuzzi feeling as though its hidden in the jungle and, especially, Maella's basket of eggs, rolls and preserves. Maella is a gem ... very welcoming, Spanish, French and English speaking and we loved her well-behaved cats and dogs too. The main house is open to guests for books, DVDs or just to set with a glass of wine to enjoy the garden view.
    tine
    be

    Review score

    10
    13 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Delphine
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    8 March 2018

    A lovely stay

    We loved the place, the attention and kindness of the owner, and all of the food provided for breakfast!
    Charles
    cr

    Review score

    6.7
    14 February 2018

    Next time I will stay in a hotel/lodge with a restaurant

    Dull knife would not cut fruit Very long walk to a decent restaurant The dogs and cats are a bother to me
    Plentiful fruit
    Roman
    ch

    Review score

    10
    18 January 2018

    Perfect stay in Orosi

    Such a lovely place with a comfortable bed, a fully equipped kitchen, and a wonderful terrace with a hottub! On top of that, we were provided with lots a fruit basket, eggs, milk and more! Maella the host and Amable are so nice and very helpful with any questions you might have. Highly recommended!!
    Andres
    cr

    Review score

    9.6
    1 January 2018

    Another lovely stay at Chalet Orosi!

    Lovely place, the outdoor bath and bbq make it extra special as does the fantastic attention from the owner. :)
    Matthijs
    nl

    Review score

    9.6
    4 November 2017
    Beautiful place in a beautiful garden.
    Dorinda
    ca

    Review score

    10
    18 September 2017

    off the beaten track, not a tourist trap area, very nice valley in the middle of costa rica

    our stay was too short, we should have stayed longer
    nice location, easy to find, great room with a tub on the deck and a fireplace.
    Madeleine
    kr

    Review score

    10
    16 March 2017
    My partner and I fell in love with this place. The breakfast option here was really nice. I traveled with my partner and I loved being able to cook with the locally sourced food provided in our cabin. The chalets lend a lot of privacy and are tucked away in the lush forest. The jacuzzi was also great :) we spent the day hiking in Tampanti park which was a winding drive on gravel roads, but very manageable in the Hyundai Elantra we rented in San Jose.
    Lisa
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    28 June 2016

    Welcoming staff, peaceful location. Great hot tub.

    Kitchen area was a bit cramped and the DVD didn't work properly.
    The girl who looked after us was lovely, very helpful. Fresh fruit, eggs, butter, bread and jam/marmalade was lovely for breakfast. The hot tub/jacuzzi was great. Bed was big and very comfy. Quiet and peaceful. Terrace was great for sitting on for breakfast and in the rain and for a couple of nice BBQ's!
    Peter
    us

    Review score

    7.9
    24 February 2018
    There were a lot of animals - at least 4 cats and 3 dogs. The cats jumped up on the deck while we were eating breakfast. This many animals that have free access to guest sitting areas is unusual and should be noted when you book the room.
    Having the three areas (bedroom, kitchen/dining, deck was wonderful. It would be comfortable to stay for multiple days. The bed/mattress was fabulous.
    Gay
    us

    Review score

    10
    16 May 2017

    Fabulous Country Accommodations!

    I would add a microwave to the kitchen.
    Maella was a lovely hostess, very friendly, sweet, helpful, and knowledgeable of the area. The room was prepared with fresh flowers, fresh eggs and fruit AND the home-made butter, cream cheese, jam and bread that were provided for me were fabulous! The property was beautifully landscaped, as well. Maella helped me decide on things to do in the area, such as a visit to the nearby National Park (gorgeous!) and arranged an exciting white-water-rafting trip. Beautiful accommodations and area and Maella made me feel that I had a new friend!
    T. Brendan
    cr

    Review score

    10
    15 April 2017

    Comfort and character in Orosi

    This was my 4th stay at Chalet Orosi. Great place. The outdoor jacuzzi is the real gem, along with homemade jams and butter stocked in each chalet for breakfast.
    Anne
    us

    Review score

    9.2
    27 March 2017

    A great location in the Orosi Valley!

    The steps from the deck were lacking a railing. I only mention this because my insurance company pointed this out about my own home and threatened to cancel my policy if I didn't build one.
    It was located a bit out of town, which was good for privacy and bird-watching. We had a rental car, so getting to town was no problem. We were a short drive from the National Park, where we did some hiking and more bird watching. The manager recommended some good restaurants and driving trips.
    Denise
    us

    Review score

    10
    5 February 2017

    wish we could stay here longer!

    The lights over the bathroom mirror were dim.
    The host was very friendly and generous. On arrival we were given a lot of food for making breakfast: bread, eggs, pineapple, papaya, apple, banana, orange, butter, jams, cream cheese, milk, more than enough for two people.
    alejandro
    cr

    Review score

    7.9
    9 January 2017
    WC had a leak Mirror lights at the WC didn't work TV Set remote control didn't turn ON/OFF the TV set No bubble bath available for the Yacuzzi Towels too old and small BBQ Set not appropiate
    Excelent place to rest Yacuzzi's place very good Guest services Fruits very good
    Diana
    gb

    Review score

    10
    24 December 2016
    There was nothing I didn't like
    Silvia was great and very welcoming. The chalet was lovely and homely and just what we needed after a whole day driving. Really enjoyed having the fire and the hot tub. Have already recommended it to my other friends traveling in CR.
    Timothy
    cr

    Review score

    9.2
    19 December 2016

    Best stay in Orosi

    Great as always. Jacuzzi is the selling point.